I’ve started contributing to a new website project called “Mie as Cool” as my alter-ego Janelle Weibelzahl (who’s that?!). Here’s my first made-for-mieiscool post!

Mie!

gazebo sm

Flower fanatic alert! Nogyo Park, in the northern tip of Mie Prefecture, is bursting with plum blossoms for the viewing! As of my visit on Wednesday, March 20th, the majority of trees were just approaching mankai (満開 – bloom) and will likely be reaching their peak over the next few days, making this weekend the perfect time to visit.

pink portrait sm

Wednesday was a grey day, and it started raining just as I arrived at the park, but armed with an umbrella and a camera I was determined to make the most of it. Thanks to the rain it wasn’t too busy, and I was able to meander peacefully along the paths under the plum blossoms. The gazebo in the middle of the park was a popular place, as people took refuge from the rain. Another must-see spot is the viewpoint, accessed by stairs from the far side of the park, or…

View original post 269 more words

