Cosplay Collection Night at TGS 2012: View from the front row

The benefit of (A) being press and (B) being late for the Cosplay Collection Night at TGS 2012, was that we got ushered to the very front, on the floor as all the seats were taken. Then, as soon as another group of journalists left their front row seats about 1/4 of the way through, I scored one for myself.

Cosplay Collection Night @ TGS, front and not quite center!

I’ve never “cosplayed” myself, unless you count Halloween, and I’ve always been a little bemused by how serious people can be about taking on the appearance and personality of a fictional character. But I must confess it was fun to see some of my favourite characters in “real life,” and all the characters at this cosplay event were, as far as I could tell, from video games. Here’s a few of my favourites:

Naruto Shippuuden: Fight-o!

I hold Naruto close to my heart because it was the first, and for quite a long time the only, Japanese anime show I ever watched, and thus my first major exposure to the Japanese language. I didn’t come to Japan because of Naruto by any means, but I guess you could say it planted a seed. So this battle interlude really made the night for me!

Naruto & Sasuke: the very definition of “frenemies.”

Rasengan! A fortunately placed hand in front of the blue spotlight makes this shot look epic!

Kage Bunshin no jutsu! (Shadow Clones!)

Sakura showed up and, true to her character, tried to help but just got in the way and Naruto had to protect her anyways. I always wished she’d be less annoying but some things never change.

Team 7, thanks for the show!

Miscellaneous 

There were far too many costumes and groups for me to bother showing you everything, so here are a handful of what I found to be the most entertaining costumes:

Final Fantasy XIII

Some guy fighting with a street sign for a weapon. Awesome! “You shall not pass. See the sign? No entry!”

Kingdom Hearts!

Never trust a Japanese cheerleader with a chainsaw and a huge smile on her face. Just saying.

Sega Dreamcast!

Contemplative creature girl. No idea what she’s from, sorry!

Hatsune Miku, Sega’s most popular character in Japan (Sonic? Who’s that?)

Finally, the night wouldn’t have been complete without giant robot suits: Evangelion and Gundam!

Okay, so why isn’t Halloween more popular in this country, exactly?

-genkiduck

Related posts:

50,000 footsteps of gamer heaven at TGS 2012

TGS 2012: GAMES GAMES GAMES!

The lie detector for your love (at TGS 2012)

