Pizza Pierogi Filling

Pizza pierogi「ピザペーロギ」
Polish food 「波蘭の料理」

Sheer bliss!

The following is a recipe for pizza pierogi filling. For all of the filling recipes, the success of your pierogi depends on how well you can make mashed potatoes. Remember to halve your filling ingredients if you plan on splitting the recipe!

STEP 1: Pizza sauce
Prep time: 5 min | Sitting time: 30 min

Ingredients

170 ml of tomato paste
170 ml of warm water
2 tablespoons fresh grated Parmesan cheese
1 teaspoon garlic puree
1 tablespoon honey
3/4 teaspoon onion powder
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1/4 teaspoon dried marjoram
1/4 teaspoon dried basil
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
1/8 teaspoon paprika
A dash of chilli powder
Salt to taste

Directions

1)      In a small bowl, combine tomato paste and water. Mix until smooth.

2)      Add the remaining ingredients and mix well. Don’t forget to sample it.

3)      Let the sauce sit for 30~60 minutes to blend the flavours.

4)      Cautiously make any last minute adjustments according to taste!

STEP 2: Prep filling ingredients
Prep time: 5 min

1 cup of grated cheddar or mozzarella cheese

Directions

1)     Prep all ingredients and set them aside.

STEP 3: Pierogi filling
Prep time: 10 min | Cooking time: 15~20 min | Sitting time: 1 hour

Ingredients

9 peeled nugget potatoes (Yukon Gold or other similarly thin skinned potatoes work best)
5 cloves of garlic cut in half
2 tablespoons of butter (approx.)
1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
1 small red onion, diced

Directions

1)      Boil potatoes and garlic together until soft enough to mash.

2)      While you are boiling the potatoes, heat the olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add the onions. Cook and stir often until soft and transparent. Set aside to be mixed in with the potatoes after mashing.

3)      Strain and mash the potatoes, adding butter as necessary to cream the potatoes. They need to be smoother than silk. You may need more than 2 tablespoons to get it smooth enough. In the case of pizza pierogi, don’t add milk or cream to the potatoes as you will be adding pizza sauce.

4)      Add the onions to the mashed potatoes and mix well.

At this point, you can split the potatoes if you wish to make two or more flavours at once.

5)      Assuming you have not split the mashed potatoes, add the cup of cheese and mix well.

6)     Once the cheese has melted in, add approximately half of the pizza sauce to them. Mix well and taste. Add more if necessary. You will have some leftover sauce. This can be frozen and used again at a later time.

7)      Allow the filling to cool for an hour or so. It shouldn’t be more than barely warm to the touch. The colder it is, the better.

Back to the Pierogi page

ジョーダン

5 thoughts on “Pizza Pierogi Filling

  1. I loved these pierogies growing up too. They are like a mini pizza pocket but even better. I can’t for the life of me understand why Cheemo is phasing them out. Apparently not enough demand. I think it was poorly marketed cause I can’t see how these things won’t fly off the shelves. They just need one of those promo people to let grocers try them – then they’ll want the club pack! I tried making my own filling too but it just wasn’t the same as Cheemo. I’m going to try yours it looks like it has some interesting additions. Cheers, Al

  2. Hi again. So now I’ve made 2 batches of the pizzarogies. I seem to use a lot of potatoes and not enough dough. They are good though. We served them to my visiting uncle and let him try to make some with us. Last night my girlfriend surprised me and got me one of those Uncle Bills Perogie maker devices, to cut down on the time, and that makes things go much faster. Thanks again for sharing your recipe!

    • No worries! Glad to hear that you guys enjoyed them! I’ve also had that same problem with the potatoes. We usually make two or three batches of the dough, though, so I don’t mind. I’ll see if I can rectify that issue though!

      Uncle Bills Perogie maker? I’ll have to check that out. Maybe Amazon.co.jp would carry them…I’d love to make the process easier and quicker.

  3. Finally found a recipe for this. However I’ve never made a Perogy from scratch before in my life.

    • It’s not that hard, so definitely give it a try! It is time consuming, but I promise you will love them.

Comments are closed.